Some feedback from an old friend on the post “Where’s the guru?”.

Ghosh Prabhu! PAMHO AGTSP!

Ecstatic pic from PIT airport. I did not get the gurus until you pointed them out. You are definitely right about Varsana M.

You have done a valuable service, Prabhu.

Are you sure that wasn’t August 1972? I don’t recall SP going to Pittsburgh more than once. I was there in 1972. We came from Boston w Suhotra Brahmacari. This was after the Buffalo Rathayatra. Somehow we missed the Syria Mosque performance. Then on to NV for Janmastami. How am I doin’? (Gosh’s note:  Sp came to NV in 1969, 72, 74, and 76, the pic is from 1974, but so happy to hear about 1972 visit).

The Pittsburgh temple had just moved into a really high end neighborhood that managed shortly thereafter to get the devotees and deities expelled.

I got to carry Prabhupada’s trunks from the tarmac to the trunk of a vehicle as I recall. K Swami ordered everyone to wait in a press room of some kind, but I decided I’d sneak down to the gate. As I was hustling down there, I felt a tap on my shoulder. The brahmacari pointed me back to see KS hustling toward the gate. He gave me a glare and a thumb, and – properly disciplined – I joined everyone else.

I remember also that Prabhupada spoke for a while, then devotees brought in a scooped out watermelon. Prabhupada took one morsel and popped it into his mouth, got up and left. It was just like the sun went down. It was incredible. Just like a child’s long day playing in the sun. Then the sun just went down. Everyone was affected the same way, I think. There was just like a long exhalation and sigh, and everyone took a breath. THEN – Prabhupada prasadam!!! Renewed – all the devotees converged on that watermelon. As I recall, I got a grape and a slice of coconut.

I had a similar experience as yours the first time I saw Prabhupada. That was at NY airport. I don’t remember which one. He was smaller than I thought, and he was super-effulgent. Also, he seemed to float. Because of the glowing and floating, I cheated on obeisances and lifted me head sideways to make sure I wasn’t dreaming. He did, and I wasn’t.

Somehow, we are attached – at least a little bit to Srila Prabhupada and each other. Please bless me that I may have the association of devotees life after life. I’d like to get your association again, also, before the end of this life. I guess, though, I’ll have to come to New Vrindaban. All glories to Sri Sri Radha-Vrindaban Chandra! All glories to Srila Prabhupada!

ys

Kardama Muni Dasa