Being on dialysis I have the same benediction that Grandfather Bhisma had — I can leave my body any time I want. Stop the dialysis and 8 days later I am gone. Because of that I was allowed to register for hospice care. It is not active and activation would be the next step but for now I think I have at least another year before my liver fails so it is a contingency plan. Still one’s thoughts turn to the end game,

An email my sister:

Matt has an app on his phone that alerts him if his furnace is not working correctly. He got a message that the temp had dropped 10 degrees yesterday while in St Paul, MN so I went and sat at his home writing Christmas thank yous as waited for the Heating man to come over to fix it. Since quiet and by myself I had time to think of lots of our Dad, Paul stories, on what would have been his 92nd birthday. He sure liked to tell detailed stories! Just think he has been with Jesus Christ, family and friends for 20 yrs of eternity now! Wow, wonder what that will be like? Exciting future!! I can wait awhile still to find out, but have the hope of heaven since in a relationship with Jesus, so am thankful!

I was doing some Bible Study prep tonight and came across this passage in 2 Corinthians that always makes me think of Dad. He told me it was time to pack his tent up when preparing for his physical death, so know he was referring to this:

“For we know that if the earthly tent we live in is destroyed, we have a building from God, an eternal house in heaven, not built by human hands. Meanwhile we groan, longing to be clothed instead with our heavenly dwelling, because when we are clothed, we will not be found naked. For while we are in this tent, we groan and are burdened, because we do not wish to be unclothed but to be clothed instead with our heavenly dwelling, so that what is mortal may be swallowed up by life. Now the one who has fashioned us for this very purpose is God, who has given us the Spirit as a deposit, guaranteeing what is to come.

“Therefore we are always confident and know that as long as we are at home in the body we are away from the Lord. For we live by faith, not by sight. We are confident, I say, and would prefer to be away from the body and at home with the Lord. So we make it our goal to please him, whether we are at home in the body or away from it. For we must all appear before the judgment seat of Christ, so that each of us may receive what is due us for the things done while in the body, whether good or bad.” 2 Corinthians 5:1-10

I think of our mother when I read the verses below as it seemed as she got sicker, her spirit seemed to stay positive and mind clear. We were so protected by God that she was that way with her head so full of tumors! Remember her last words were “Trust and Obey for there is no other way”.

“Therefore we do not lose heart. Though outwardly we are wasting away, yet inwardly we are being renewed day by day. For our light and momentary troubles are achieving for us an eternal glory that far outweighs them all. So we fix our eyes not on what is seen, but on what is unseen, since what is seen is temporary, but what is unseen is eternal.” 2 Corinthians 4:16-18

Love, your sister Laura

