When I went to the hospital at the beginning of all this due to being unable to breath freely a funny thing happened.

At some point as I was laying in the Emergency Room Vidya comes in with a puzzled look on her face. She said she had looked at my chart and saw S.O.B. written on. She said  I know you can be an S.O.B. sometimes but how would they know that and why is it medically relevant?

Now for nonAmerican English speakers let me explain the nuance of  S.O.B. .

Literally it’s an acronym  for “son of a bitch”, a bitch being a female dog.  I don’t know exactly how it came to mean it but in American slang it means a person who is difficult to deal with.  Which I can be.

I had to think for a minute but then I realized it was medical jargon, being an acronym for “Shortness of breath.”

We both had a good laugh about that.

