While I can imagine life without email, I am glad mine is back. For a week I couldn’t access it at home which is connected to the internet through Hughes Net, a satellite internet service provider.

Even though I could access everything else  I couldn’t go  anywhere related to Google, ergo no Google search and no Gmail.  Search was no big whoop because there are other search engines  but  lack of email was inconvenient.  I was able to access Gmail from other places so I would go to the temple every other day and use someone’s laptop while they were eating lunch but that was far from ideal.

It was a wide spread problem with Hughes Net as once I had been through the initial session with a techie, I got escalated to the next level and they also weren’t able to solve my problem. It took a system wide update to Hughes Net itself to get me back in the saddle.

After several  months of above average temperatures, including the warmest March ever, April came in about a half degree below normal.   Which gave us a spring where first it was like watching all the plant life running in Fast Forward, then getting back to a normal spot on the expected timeline by going slo mo in April.

It was below average moisture in April so we were able to get soil preparation done timely and planting has gone on.

Last week I planted green beans. A lot of years a May 1st planting will fail and the bean seed rot in the ground but I always try some anyway just in case we do get warm weather which we have gotten this year.  The 10 day forecast is above normal temperatures with no frosts predicted so yesterday I planted some edamame and sweet corn.

I also put out most of my tomatoes.  I had put out 6 early tomatoes last week under cloches (office water cooler bottles with their bottoms cut out)  now I put another 25.  As the average last frost is May 7th and the safe date May 15th, normally I would put hot caps ( milk jugs with bottoms cut out) on them  at this date but with the 10 Day forecast as it is I didn’t bother.

I had put down the red plastic mulch (reputed to be better for tomatoes than black) on the  bed last week days before I put out the early tomatoes so the soil should be nice and warm underneath.

I have 6 Bellstars to plant yet, a paste tomato. When I gave my wife the seeds to start I had spaced those out so because I got them to her late they are running behind and will be another week.

Getting the tomatoes planted made space in our cold frames so the peppers will be moved out there  to start the hardening off process.  Moving from the protection of the greenhouse to the stronger sunlight of outdoors, the wind, and the greater variation in day/night temperature is a shock for  plants so they need a few days to adjust,  called hardening off.

Transplanting in the garden is another shock so moving from the greenhouse to the garden in two steps eases the transition.  Before transplanting we soak plants in a seaweed solution which mitigates transplant shock and gets new growth started faster.

Peppers like warmth more than tomatoes hence they are coming out later.

If a late frost does pay a surprise visit, I have floating row cover handy so we can protect the tender new plants, and seaweed also gives a slight degree of frost hardness even to the tenderest plants.

The goal is to have some ripe tomatoes by July 4th so let’s see if that happens. In the meantime we are eating spinach and asparagus  and I can start munching on lettuce thinnings any day now so the garden season is well up and running.

