We’re off to see the Wizard
The Wonderful Wizard of Oz
We hear he is a Whiz of a Wiz
If ever a Wiz there was
If ever, oh ever, a Wiz there was
The Wizard of Oz is one because
Because, because, because, because, because
Because of the wonderful things he does
We’re off to see the wizard
The Wonderful Wizard of Oz!

lyrics from The Wizard of Oz

Only in my case it is “whiz” not wiz, as in American slang for passing urine, as in “I have to go take a whiz”.  When I sprung a leak during my recent kidney biopsy, I drew the attention of a urologist and had a one month followup at which time a urine test revealed the presence of blood. He had me do two more tests on consecutive days in case it was an anomaly but the blood was there consistently.

Not a lot of blood, but just over the threshold necessary to warrant further attention so today I am off to the hospital for a diagnostic procedure or two.  Basically they are going to examine my urinary tract by putting a camera up through my bladder into my kidneys, if I understand correctly. Yes, that DOES mean they are going to access it through the, er, ah, lower urinary portal.  Anesthesiology will be involved, mercifully.

They also want to do something with contrast dye, but because my kidney function is so reduced, they won’t be able to introduce it the normal way, so they will also have to inject the  dye from the lower end as well.

The doctor warned me to expect a day on the couch but said tomorrow I will be able to do anything.  When he said I would be able to do anything, I couldn’t resist and gave him the old Groucho Marx (?) joke, will I be able to play the piano? When he said yes, I said great, because I never used to be able to.

I do have a bunch of berries being shipped today and expect to receive them around Wednesday so have been prepping for that.  So far I have gotten 10 bush cherries planted in the temple garden and at home I have planted 2 almond trees and a pampas grass.  We have stuff being shipped today, but the bulk is being shipped next Monday, so it is going to be a busy couple of weeks, thus it would be inconvenient to have complications from this procedure today. It is no where near as invasive as the kidney biopsy (which involved a BIG needle taking out  a slice) and since that went bad I am due for a smooth one.

