“After all, a sincere devotee always prays to the Lord, “Please help me to love You purely.” Therefore the Lord’s so-called neglect is actually the fulfillment of the devotee’s prayer. Lord Krsna intensifies our love for Him by apparently separating Himself from us, and the result is that we achieve what we really wanted and prayed for: intense love for the Absolute Truth, Krsna. Thus Lord Krsna’s apparent negligence is actually His thoughtful reciprocation and the fulfillment of our deepest and purest desire.”

Srimad Bhagavatam 10.32.20

” ‘Please help me. what am I going to do? I can’t go on like this. You can see that!  Look at the state I am in. what ought I to do? Show me the way.’ As if I needed more information or some kind of sign!

“…suddenly, as soon as I had made that prayer, I became aware of the wood, the trees, the dark hills, the wet night in my imagination, I started to hear the great bell of Gethsemani ringing in the night…”

A Merton Reader, ed. by Thomas P.  McDonnell, (New York: Image Books, 1989) 128

