I was watching a Radhanath Swami lecture at the Kennedy School of Government,  Harvard when something he said stuck. He quoted Ananda Mayi Ma, “Love is everlasting forgiveness.”

I didn’t jot it down and although I remembered the gist of it, forgot who said it or the exact wording. During the Festival of Inspiration I ran into him in a hallway and asked for a requote, which he was so kind as to oblige me.

As I have an interest in the concept of forgiveness (see my post Forgiveness is giving up hope for a better past) I made the comment that forgiveness was more of a Christian concept and that Srila Prabhupada didn’t say much about it. I stated this based on a Vedabase search using forgiveness as the search term and not getting many results.

Radhanath disagreed and said that wherever Prabhupada said tolerance he was talking about forgiveness.  That was quite an insight for me that I am still digesting, but makes for a very interesting new angle when reading Srila Prabhupada’s body of work.

