Here is a tool I have spent 100s of hours with.

harvesting scissors

I was harvesting some  Lipstick sweet peppers yesterday. We don’t harvest them as green peppers, we let them ripen so the vitamin content is higher.  One side effect of this is that they stay on the plants longer and the newer ones can crowd them pretty hard as they reach size.

Once the first flush has been harvested it is easier but for those first ones my harvesting scissors is essential as the thin blades can get down into the middle and snip the stem allowing for removal without damaging the plant.

Even after the plant gets opened up, I still cut the stems.  Although I could use a bigger scissors then, a bigger scissors wouldn’t slip as easily into my pocket when not in use, like these do.

They are also very useful for some varieties of tomatoes, especially the older heritage varieties like Brandywine, or the version of Branywine we have grown called Pruden’s Purple, which is identical in taste and color, but it comes into bearing a week earlier and is slightly smaller and less prone to cracking.

We didn’t start our own tomatoes this year other then some Rutgers because I didn’t know what my energy level was going to be. If I could only have one tomato, Rutgers would be it, and it isn’t one you will find in the big box retailers selections, though surprisingly Brandywine has become main stream.

One thing industrial tomatoes are bred for is ease of harvesting, and Brandywine will never be commercially available for that reason. The little scissors is essential for harvesting them and others with the trait of really clinging to the vine. If you try to just twist them off you can break the branch it is attached to.

My little scissors is also great for harvesting herbs, flowers, and any number of other things. When we were doing Farmer’s markets, I spent a lot of time with it. I have occasionally used it since, but this is the first year in about five years I have done any substantial gardening since my liver failed so I was feeling that using it for an extended period of time was like being reunited with an old friend.

More so than just it being a symbol of being able to be active, almost like it had a persona of it’s own.

We live in an age of disposable objects. In more traditional, earth based cultures everyday tools were often decorated and given much greater respect.  We have lost that  and I think our quality of life has suffered because of it.

