There is flooding along the Red River in North Dakota and Minnesota. I have been getting email updates from relatives who are living there in the flood areas. Here is one from my sister who lives in Fargo, where so far the dikes are holding, that I want to share:

Hi, all – Southpointe clinic will be closed til Thursday. I will be cooking soup for the Hope Lutheran staff for tomorrow’s lunch. I will spend all day tomorrow volunteering for the Salvation Army. I sent the following to my Living Proof Live Prayer Partners today:

I have no idea what is happening in your life right now, whether flood fighting, grieving losses, or having joyful times, but know God is thinking of you with love and will meet your needs. Many continue to need our prayers and support during this Flood of 2009 and later the recovery.

I was thinking of how earlier I wanted to get into the Fargodome to pray for the Living Proof Live with Beth Moore event, but only can when there is an event. Well, as I was shoveling sand into bags on Friday I realized “I am in the Fargodome” so can be praying for LPL also. God answers prayers in different ways than we would ever imagine. :)

A guy with tattoos up his neck started shoveling next to me. I kept thinking of how I couldn’t stand to have people sticking needles in my neck, so asked him about them. He said he used to be a tattoo artist. I shared the Bible verse about how our names are engraved in the palm of God’s hand and how paraphrased versions say tattooed.

Well, he is a Christian with ND Teen Challenge out of Mandan. I meet several others that came with him. Would have liked to have heard testimonies, but needed to keep working, plus more volunteers came so got farther apart. I get so encouraged hearing about every changed life in Jesus!! Beth Moore’s Esther study talks about reversals – With God, all things are possible!!

Diane Nelson shared this verse with me…

Do not be afraid. Stand firm and you will see the deliverance the Lord will bring you today. The Lord will fight for you; you need only be still. Exodus 14:13-14

