“When my body will be thrown into the pit at the cremation grounds, it will simply lie there motionless. Then many crows, vultures, ants, and worms will come and playfully sport there. ”

Srila Saccidananda Bhaktivinoda Thakura, The Desire Tree of Auspiciousness, Second Branch, Part 2, Song 4, Verse 10

I have been working the last week on getting a deer fence up. Many misadventures and frustrations which I may detail more later.

For now, I am way behind on correspondence and have left what might be more important projects aside, but my main focus has been this fence and it hasn’t been going that smoothly.

I should be outside now but things like getting credit cards  paid before they are due and renewing my prescriptions (I was out of two drugs this morning ) are asserting themselves so I am chilling out a bit this morning. It rained last night so the ground is  wet but I haven’t  checked how wet yet. Hopefully  I will take up fencing this afternoon.

Yesterday we did finally got Gopesh’s post holes dug and moved to my house.  Unfortunately, I screwed up and got the post hole digger stuck in the ground, breaking the upper arm pin on the three point hitch (it was under spec and I knew it but it had been holding) at one point and in trying to get the stuck auger out of the ground sheared the pin holding it to the gear box. It remains stuck as of this writing.

Yudhistre was here helping and as I pulled out to take him back to the temple area I saw there was a roadkill deer laying in the approach to the field on the woodpile side of my house.  It was starting to bloat.

We put a tow rope around her head and pulled her up towards the high meadow.  An Astro van is a little light in the tail for off roading so I had to haul a– heading up the grassy road  and kept it flying until I was still heading uphill but next to the tree line where we pushed her over the bank so the carrion eaters can do their thing.

Then I accelerated back down the hill and swung the rear end back straight up the hill once I had enough momentum so I wouldn’t spin out on the grass. Thus now pointed in a forward direction  it was off to the temple.

Four wheel drive vehicles ruined going off the road — it took all the skill out of it. Any desk jockey can go out on a hillside and let his equipment do his thinking for him. With two wheel you spin out on grassy slopes so you have to carefully plot your moves.

As I was picking up tools to put away, the rain started falling with the dark. The last forecast I had seen was a few days of rain and this time of year that can mean you are off soft ground until April or May, so I went to bed in a downer.

The rain has disappeared from this morning’s forecast so maybe the project isn’t dead yet. I will try rally this afternoon and get the auger bit out of the ground and  the drill going again.  Once we get the posts in then the bracing and wire can be done even if the weather gets bad.